The John G. Shedd Institute for the Arts
Shedd Tickets Online
868 High Street
Eugene, Oregon
Tickets: 541-434-7000
Office: 541-687-6526

This package is presently not on sale
Shedd Classical 2017-18 Season Package

xJaqua Concerts NEW : 11/9/17 7:30PM - 4/22/18 3:00PM

View All Packages

Shedd Classical 2017-18 Season Package

Shedd Classical 2017-18 presents 3 shows: Siri Vik's Sure On This Shining Night:Vocal & chamber works by Samuel Barber & Aaron Copland (November 9), the microphilarmonic's Woodwind Octets: Mozart, Beethoven & Michael (March 4), and the microphilharmonic's Schubert Octet in F Major (April 22). Order an individual package of all three Shedd Classicals 2017-18 season productions and get a 10% discount!

Click 'Buy Now' to start building your package from the following performances:

Sure On This Shining Night
Vocal & Chamber Works by Samuel Barber & Aaron Copland Thursday, November 9, 2017 7:30PM   ·   More Info »
Sure On This Shining Night <br/> Vocal & Chamber Works by Samuel Barber & Aaron Copland

To inaugurate its new Shedd Classical series, The Shedd Institute presents an evening of some of our favorite vocal and chamber works by two of our favorite American composers, Samuel Barber (1910-81) and Aaron Copland (1900-90), performed by an ensemble led by two of our favorites artists, soprano Siri Vik and conductor Robert Ashens.

Harmonie I: Mozart, Beethoven & Michael Sunday, March 4, 2018 3:00PM   ·   More Info »
microphilarmonic <br/> Harmonie I: Mozart, Beethoven & Michael

For their premiere project, Michael Anderson and the microphilharmonic re-created Beethoven's 1792 Octet in E-flat major for winds, Op 103, Johann Georg Triebensee's (1746-1813) excellent arrangement for wind octet of Mozart's Don Giovanni; and Pennsylvania Moravian composer David Moritz Michael's (1751-1827) woodwind octet .

Schubert Octet Major Sunday, April 22, 2018 3:00PM   ·   More Info »
microphilharmonic <br/> Schubert Octet Major

Michael Anderson and the micophilharmonic present Franz Schubert's masterful and extraordinarily beautiful Octet in F major for Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn and Strings. The hour-long, six-movement piece was commissioned in 1824 by close friend Ferdinand, Count Troyer, a clarinetist and close associate of violinist Ignaz Schuppanzigh, whose own quartet had long been closely associated with Beethoven. Troyer and Schuppanzig were interested in the compositon of a piece in the model of Beethoven's popular 1802 Septet in E-flat major, which followed the 18th century outdoor music 6-movement structure rather than the 4-movement structure standard to early 19th century chamber music, and Schubert obliged, adding a additional violin and 25 minutes. Their work is a masterpiece of form and beauty, well-deserving of its fame and ongoing popularity.